Author Interview – Kathryn A. Zolman

Book Details:

Book Title:  Are You A Pineapple? by Kathryn A. Zolman
Category:  Children’s Fiction (Ages 3-7),  38 pages
Genre:  Children’s Picture Book
Publisher:  Mascot Books
Release date:   May, 2022
Content Rating:  G. Suitable for everyone.

Book Description:

Kevin has a beautiful new puppy! But what should he name her? He wants to find a name that is unique, just like her. Kevin knows the puppy is special, but he’s about to find out just how smart she is when she helps Kevin choose her own name!

 

Meet the Author – Kathryn A. Zolman:

Kathryn A. Zolman never expected to write a children’s book, but when Pineapple came into her life and she heard the story of how this sweet, smart dog got her name, she thought it would make a fun book for parents to read to their children. Pineapple is a Bull Mastiff, German Shepherd, Chow mix, and much like a real pineapple, she knows how to stand tall and is very sweet on the inside!

Kathryn is an avid dog lover. Along with her husband and daughter, they have raised three Doberman Pinschers, each with their own unique personality and character. Kathryn is an advocate for not only raising children to respect all animals, but also to be thankful for the pure joy that they bring to our lives. In writing this book, Kathryn seeks to spread a positive message and hopes it will help children express more gratitude in their lives.

connect with the author: instagram  

An Interview with Kathryn A. Zolman

When did you first know you wanted to be an author? 

A: I entertained the idea about 20 years ago, when my daughter was little. I would read two or three books to her every night and thought it would be fun to write my own book. Unfortunately, I couldn’t think of anything interesting to write about at that time and just gave up on the idea. That is, until I met Pineapple. The story of how her owner picked her name was too precious not to write a children’s book!

When you are not writing, what other hats do you wear? What do you do for fun?

A: My other hats include wife, mom, dog mom, and Office Manager. I’ve been married for thirty-three years and have one daughter who is an adult now. I’m a dog mom to a one-year-old Doberman Pinscher puppy (this is a big hat!) and I work as an Office Manager for a local non-profit organization. I enjoy walking, devoting time to be outside, traveling with my husband and spending any time I can with my daughter.

What is your favorite genre to read? What about that genre draws you?

A: Interesting fact about me; I wrote a children’s book, but I wouldn’t consider myself to be an avid reader. Therefore, I’d have to say the children’s book genre is my favorite. Although I have recently become interested in a dark fantasy novel that my daughter’s finance has written. 

What is your favorite thing about this time of year? And why?

A: I love the holiday season! I love everything about it; the music, the food, getting together with family, and the shopping. I do love to shop! I love to give presents! I’ve been told that I have a knack for finding the perfect gift for others. It warms my heart to bring a smile to someone else.

What historical figure do you admire and why?

A: What a great question! And a very difficult question for me to answer. There are so many remarkable historical figures that I admire for different reasons that I can’t narrow it down to just one. My list includes Henry Flagler, Ruth Handler, Ken Miles, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth II, and Freddie Mercury to name a few.

Who did you have in mind as you wrote the book?

A: I really didn’t have any one person in mind while writing the book. It was more like having all parents in mind and imagining them reading my story to their kids at bedtime. I guess picturing parents reading it, as I would read it, calling out the silly names from my book. Sit spoon? Shake sugar. 

As a former K-12 school librarian I have to ask – what is your favorite children’s book?

A: I’ve had many favorite children’s books over the years! When I was young, one of my favorites was Christina Katerina & The Box. Another was Andrew Henry’s Meadow. One of my favorite books to read to my daughter was Green Eggs and Ham. She loved how fast I could rattle off the rhyming without skipping a bit!

Green Eggs and Ham was one of my favorites as a child, and still is.

What advice would you give to a child or teen who wants to be a writer?

A: My main advice would be to not give up! If you have a great idea for a book and can visualize the pages before writing it, give it a try! Do some research on typing manuscripts and finding the right publisher, but anything is possible!


Enter the Giveaway:

ARE YOU A PINEAPPLE? Book Tour Giveaway
https://widget.gleamjs.io/e.js

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.