Mouse’s Christmas Gift

Baker, Mindy. Mouse’s Christmas Gift. Illustrated by Dow Phumiruk. Grand Rapids, MI: Zonderkidz, 2018.

Mouse’s Christmas Gift by Mindy Baker

When you think about all the Christmas stories ever written you have to wonder, Is there a new way to tell the story? Mindy Baker puts a new twist on the Christmas story in this new picture book. She has written an engaging tale about a church mouse who realizes that Christmas is near and nothing has been done in the church. After some investigation, he discovers that the parson is in bed sick and will not be able to conduct the Christmas Eve service.  What happens next will warm your heart and give you a sense of anything is possible in the holiday season.

Dow Phumiruk illustrations help the reader/listener “see” the story in addition to reading it/hearing it read. The colors of the pictures are muted but that matches the mood of the book. Her illustrations are well-done. I wish I had had a copy of this book in time for my Mock Caldecott as I believe it should be a contender.

I highly recommend adding Mouse’s Christmas Gift to your Christmas collection. The book is appropriate for younger elementary students although I think older students would enjoy it as well.  

I did receive a complimentary copy of Mouse’s Christmas Gift from Zonderkidz in exchange for an honest review on this children’s literature blog. Writing a positive review was not required. I will be placing my copy in the school library where I serve as librarian – I can’t wait to share this title with my students.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.