YA Review – Seven Ways to Kill a King


On Tour with Prism Book Tours


Seven Ways to Kill a King
By Melissa Wright
YA Fantasy
Hardcover, Paperback & ebook, 264 Pages
August 10, 2020

She was born a princess. They made her an assassin.

One was an accident. Two a coincidence. By three, they would know. It would be harder, but I would avenge my mother’s death. These kings would pay that price.

Seven cities make up the Storm Queen’s Realm, each of their self-crowned, murderous kings are one of Princess Myrina’s marks. The treasonous curs may have banded together to share a stolen throne, but soon they will fall.

They thought her dead, killed in the massacre. They thought their rule secure, but Myrina of Stormskeep has awoken. With the help of her loyal bloodsworn, the shadow princess of will have her revenge.

For fans of The Witcher and Game of Thrones—a new princess set on vengeance is here to steal your heart.

(Affiliate links included.)
Goodreads | AmazonB&N | Apple Books | Google Play | Kobo 

My Review

There is much to like in Melissa Wright’s latest book Seven Ways to Kill a King. You have mythical lands, evil kings, and a princess who wants to make it all right again. There is also fighting, mystery, and romance. Melissa Wright has crafted a well-written fantasy that will draw in many readers. It is action-packed and will keep readers reading. 

Miri has been in hiding since her mother was murdered. The kings who now rule are becoming more and more wicked and greedy. Miri and those hiding her are no longer safe. Miri has been plotting for years as to how to kill the seven kings who replaced her mother – will she succeed or will she be killed in the process. Her older sister, the rightful queen, has been kept hostage since their mother was murdered – what kind of shape will she be in when Miri finally finds her? There is also a rags to riches – type romance, but I don’t want to give too much away about that. 

Seven Ways to Kill a King is a stand alone novel, but I’d like to see more written about these characters. 

Potential Area of Concern

The book contains liberal use of “Gods,” “Gods dammit,” “seven Hells” and other curse-like phrases. These phrases may not be appropriate for some audiences. 

While I think that teens would probably enjoy Seven Ways to Kill a King, I do not think the book is appropriate for a K-12 Christian school library. It may be appropriate for other audiences.

I want to thank Prism Book Tours for the complimentary e-copy of Seven Ways to Kill a King. This is my honest review. 

About the Author

Melissa is the author of more than a dozen young adult and fantasy novels and countless to-do lists. Her most popular titles are The Frey Saga and Descendants Series. She’s currently working on the next book, but when not writing can be spotted collecting the things she loves at Goodreads and Pinterest. Contact her through the web at http://www.melissa-wright.com

Website | Blog | Goodreads | BookBub | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Tour Schedule

Tour Giveaway

One winner will receive a copy of SEVEN WAYS TO KILL A KING and a Crown (as pictured), if winner is outside the US a $25 Amazon gift card will be sent instead

Ends September 17, 2020

ENTER HERE

Grab Our Button!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.