“L” is for Library

Terry, Sonya. “L” is for Library. Illustrated by Nicole Wong. Fort Atkinson, WI: Upstart Books, 2006.

As I’ve mentioned before, I read alphabet books to my littles as we learn about ABC order and how books are organized on the shelves. “L” is for Library  one of those books I read each year. Not only does it reinforce alphabetical order it also introduces or reviews a variety of library or book terms such as: author, biography, Caldecott, and Dewey Decimal System. Terry’s text is straight forward and understandable. Wong’s illustrations are very detailed, giving little ones a lot to look at while listening to the story.

L Is for Library is available from Amazon.

4 comments

  1. […] First graders started on fiction vs. non fiction. We talked about the difference between the two – I was pleasantly surprised that some of them remembered what I had taught them about this last spring. I used a couple of pages from the old LiBEARy Skills K-3 book I purchased a long time ago as a worksheet. Used copies of the book are still available on Amazon under the title Library Skills (link found below).  We also read L is for Library.  […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.