Wolf in the Snow

Cordell, Matthew. Wolf in the Snow. New York: Feiwel and Friends, 2017.

My first thought when I paged through this book was Little Red Riding Hood. The main character is a little girl in a red cape. On her way home from school she finds a lost wolf pup and decides to take him home but in the process she gets lost as well. Cordell tells the story well through pictures in this wordless book. He does use some “sound” words such as “growl” and “screech” but the plot is shared only through his illustrations. Wolf in the Snow is on my list for my annual Mock Caldecott/Animoto assignment. I will most likely be adding this book to our wordless book collection to be used as a story starter and for language development.

Wolf in the Snow is available from Amazon.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.