Little Fox in the Forest

Graegin, Stephanie. Little Fox in the Forest. New York: Schwartz & Wade Books, 2017.

I love wordless books. They have so much potential for use – from language development for little ones and ESL students to story starters for older students. Little Fox in the Forest is no exception. A girl takes her stuffed fox to school for show and tell. During recess a real fox comes to the playground and takes the stuffed fox to the forest. The girl and a boy follow the trail in an attempt to get the stuffed fox back. The illustrations show their journey as they search for the girl’s beloved toy. I can’t wait to hear the stories my students will tell as they look at these illustrations – it is definitely going on my wish list for the school library.

Little Fox in the Forest has potential for any Mock Caldecott units you may have planned. It will be in my stack of books for my annual fall unit for my fifth graders – creating an Animoto for potential Caldecott winners.

Little Fox in the Forest would also be a great book to pair with Aaron Becker’s Journey, Quest, and Return.

Little Fox in the Forest is available at Amazon.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.