Kid Review – The Gift Shop Bear – Christmas Picture Book

Harris, Phyllis. The Gift Shop Bear. New York: Worthy Kids, 2021.

About the book from the publisher

Discover the power of friendship in this nostalgic Christmas tale of a young girl and her furry friend—perfect for fans of The Velveteen RabbitCorduroy, and The Polar Express. 

All year long, Bear watches from his spot in the attic as the seasons change, waiting for the first snowflakes that signify Christmas is coming. You see, at Christmastime, Bear gets to join his special friend, Annie, in the festivities in her grandma’s gift shop. But this year is different–the gift shop is closing and Bear’s future seems uncertain. Will Bear see Annie and Nana again? The heartwarming conclusion will make this story a family favorite at Christmastime each year. 

Author-illustrator Phyllis Harris brings a warmth and coziness to her art and storytelling that give the book the timeless feel of a Christmas classic.

Purchase The Gift Shop Bear on Amazon

My Review

I love Christmas and am always excited to find a new Christmas picture book. The Gift Shop Bear takes a point of view I’ve never thought of for a story – a stuffed bear who was used as a Christmas decoration in a gift shop. Phyllis Harris uses words that will make readers and listeners smell the smells that the bear smells, feel the things the bear feels, and see the things the bear sees. 

I love Phyllis Harris’ illustrations in this book. They convey the Christmas feeling and are beautiful. Children will be able to “read” the book even if they cannot yet read. I would include The Gift Shop Bear in a mock-Caldecott unit – it is worthy of the award. 

The Gift Shop Bear would make a great addition to the Christmas collection of any library.I received a complimentary copy of The Gift Shop Bear. This is my honest review.

You can purchase books at: (affiliate links)

I55 Fundraising – If you are looking to purchase books for your library (or for personal use) or a company to use for Book Fairs – I recommend I55 Fundraising.

Coloring Books to RElax
AmazonTry Audible Plus

Kindle Unlimited Membership Plans

My Teachers Pay Teachers shop

If you are an avid reader, you need to check out Totally Booked: A Book Lover’s Companion. Totally Booked, a companion reading journal from The Mosaic Collection, is perfect for book lovers. As a paperback, Totally Booked travels easily and is a charming gift for mothers, sisters, girlfriends, book lovers, avid readers, book club members, influencers, bloggers, and book reviewers (description from Amazon).

Other items you may be interested in: (affiliate links)

If you’d like to become an affilate for Ultimate Bundles, you can fill out the form found here.

Find Teaching Resources with a 10-Day Free Trial

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.