Within These Lines

Banner_WithinTheseLines_Blog

Welcome to the Blog & Review Tour – and Giveaway – for Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

9780310765264Title: Within These Lines
Author: Stephanie Morrill
Publisher: Blink YA
Genre: Historical Young Adult Fiction
Release Date: March 5, 2019

When Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are torn apart by the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, they must fight if they want any hope of returning to one another before World War II steals their future together. Within These Lines is one unflinching, haunting, historical novel you don’t want to miss; perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein.

Evalina Cassano’s life in an Italian-American family living in San Francisco in 1941 is quiet and ordinary until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and that inter-racial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and move to a Japanese-American internment camp.

Degrading treatment makes life at Manzanar Relocation Center difficult. Taichi’s only connection to the outside world is treasured letters from Evalina. Feeling that the only action she can take to help Taichi is to speak out against injustice, Evalina becomes increasingly vocal at school and at home. Meanwhile, inside Manzanar, fighting between different Japanese-American factions arises. Taichi begins to doubt he will ever leave the camp alive.

With tensions running high and their freedom on the line, Evalina and Taichi must hold true to their ideals and believe in their love to make a way back to each other against unbelievable odds.

Within These Lines:

  • Is a young adult historical novel set in the World War II era
  • Contains themes of love, separation, social justice, war, and diversity
  • Perfect for junior high and high school students
  • A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Christian Book | iTunes

My Review

I like learning history through historical fiction. Stephanie Morrill has written a well-researched novel about a difficult time in our country’s history. There are many incidences in American history that make we wonder what people were thinking – the internment of Japanese Americans is one of those incidences. Within These Lines uses dual narrators to tell the story – Evalina, an Italian-American, and Taichi, her Japanese-American boyfriend. The story has so many levels – a bi-racial relationship at a time when it was unacceptable, the internment of American citizens because of their heritage, the hatred of many in Anglo society, and the sending off of young people to war from which they might not return. At times the novel seems to have almost too much going on but that is the way the world was during this tumultuous time.

Taichi and his family are sent to the internment camp at Manzanar. Stephanie Morrill weaves the story of Manzanar into the narrative – the Japanese immigrants who fought for the United States during WWI yet were sent to the camps, the Japanese Americans who had been sent back to Japan for education and thus indoctrinated with Japanese imperialistic beliefs. Both of these groups were angry and did not trust the Japanese Americans who were loyal to the United States government. Riots and strikes really happened and Stephanie Morrill includes them. I appreciated her inclusion of historical details at the end of the story.

Evalina’s personality is such that she speaks out for injustices. It is no surprise that she goes to the University to study political science with an eye toward becoming a lawyer. Yet, at that time, that was not a field women entered. So, she dealt with prejudices of her own. Some were also prejudice against her because she was outspoken about the treatment of Japanese American who are American citizens.

I will not hesitate to add this book to our school library. Within These Lines is appropriate for middle school and up. Stories like this need to be written so that we never forget!

Within These Lines

Thank you to Just Read Tours and Stephanie Morrill for my review copy.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

stephanie-morrill-low-res-227x300

Stephanie Morrill writes books about girls who are on an adventure to discover their unique place in the world. She is the author of several contemporary young adult series, as well as the 1920s mystery, The Lost Girl of Astor Street, and the WWII era romance, Within These Lines. Since 2010, Stephanie has been encouraging the next generation of writers at her website, GoTeenWriters.com. She lives in the Kansas City area, where she loves plotting big and small adventures to enjoy with her husband and three children. You can connect with Stephanie and learn more about her books at StephanieMorrill.com, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR: website | facebook | twitter | instagram


GIVEAWAY

Giveaway_WithinTheseLines

(1) Grand Prize winner will win a release copy of Within These Lines & a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: “Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act”

(5) First Prize winners will each with a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: “Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act”

Be sure to check out each stop on the Bookstagram Tour and (upcoming) Takeover Tour, as well as this tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule shown below. Giveaway began at midnight March 5, 2019 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on March 18, 2019. Winners will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. Due to shipping cost, only US mailing addresses valid. For our giveaway rules and policy, click HERE.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

Be sure to stop at the following tours for more chances to win!

Banner_WithinTheseLines_IG2

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

JustRead Logo

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.